Press release

8 May 2003 London
analyticalQ presents a piano guitar duo concert at the Vestry Hall, Ranelagh Road W5 in Ealing on Friday 30th May 2003 at 7 pm and at 8:15 pm. Donations are accepted for the world music tour. This is the first public appearance in London of the piano guitar duo of Anne Ku, a pianist based in Ealing, and Robert Bekkers, a guitarist, composer, and arranger based in the Netherlands. This concert follows a week after their invitation to participate in the 2003 International Music Festival at the Eastern Mediterranean University in North Cyprus.
The duo will perform three pieces written specifically for the rare combination of piano and guitar, which are solo instruments in their own right. Robert Bekkers will play famous guitar solo works of Albéniz, Rodrigo, Tarrega, and Turina. Anne Ku will introduce a selection of her own pentatonic piano solos which she composed while travelling as a full-time energy consultant and journalist.
Anne Ku has performed as a special guest of Robert Bekkers' violin-guitar Duo Magenta in the Netherlands. Currently she is a part-time lecturer in the Faculty of Professional Studies at Thames Valley University. Since meeting Robert Bekkers in 2001, Anne Ku has organised private home concerts with unique themes, most notably Full Moon Concert in North Wales, Winter Solstice Concert in London, and Spanish Summer Soiree. These concerts featured other instruments such as flute, bassoon, violin, viola, and cello with arrangements by Robert Bekkers.
Future plans for the duo include extending these concerts to historic homes such as the Pitzhanger Manor Museum and Boston Manor House so that the public may also experience chamber music and other forms of self-expression in an intimate and relaxed environment where a fusion of music, home-cooked food, and meaningful conversation can take place. Concerts in the UK and the Netherlands precede their forthcoming world tour in 4th quarter 2004.

A piano guitar duo concert

Robert Bekkers, guitar

Anne Ku, piano

photo credits: Nicholas Kuskin